cougarguard.com — unofficial BYU Cougars / LDS sports, football, basketball forum and message board

cougarguard.com — unofficial BYU Cougars / LDS sports, football, basketball forum and message board (http://www.cougarguard.com/forum/index.php)
-   Fitness and Wellness (http://www.cougarguard.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=32)
-   -   I need some new running music. (http://www.cougarguard.com/forum/showthread.php?t=15189)

Solon 12-20-2007 02:07 PM

I need some new running music.

I'm not into hip-hop (other than the beastie boys) and I've been listening to espn radio podcasts for a couple of months, but I need something to help me lose the 5 pounds I packed on this semester. I've also listened to the Killers and Mest for awhile - the beats help me keep a stride - but I'm getting burned out on my stuff.

What kick-ass tunes do you run / work out to?

UteStar 12-20-2007 07:17 PM

If you want a little harder music to 'pump' you up, there is Metallica, 3 Days Grace, KoRn and Linkin Park.

Venkman 12-20-2007 07:26 PM

The best running music is Bon Scott era AC/DC.

SteelBlue 12-20-2007 07:31 PM

I have made some strange observations about running music. The first is that guitar driven rock (which I love) does not help me during a hard run. In fact, the more I'm suffering during a hard run, the more I am aggravated by such tunes. As a result I have very few guitar driven tunes on my running playlists. An exception is "When the Levee Breaks" which seems to work well for me.

The second observation is that, like you, I don't really like hip hop/rap but for running those beats are helpful. I have several songs that I only listen to while running that I don't ever listen to anywhere else and some that I'm even embarrassed to have on my iPod in certain company but if it works, it works. Some examples: Jay Z- Dirt off Your Shoulder, LL Cool J Headsprung and Kanye West Stronger all work really well for hard runs.