cougarguard.com — unofficial BYU Cougars / LDS sports, football, basketball forum and message board

cougarguard.com — unofficial BYU Cougars / LDS sports, football, basketball forum and message board (http://www.cougarguard.com/forum/index.php)
-   Home Improvement and Real Estate (http://www.cougarguard.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=30)
-   -   Wire Gauge Question (http://www.cougarguard.com/forum/showthread.php?t=21228)

Clark Addison 07-26-2008 08:26 PM

Wire Gauge Question

Any electricians on board? I am a self-taught handyman, and have never dabbled in anything electric for fear of killing myself.

I am putting in a new, replacement, garage door opener. There are currently wires that go from the control panel, into the wall, up, and come out of the ceiling above the motor unit. I would like to just re-use these wires, since I don't know how I would get wires through the wall, and it would look better than stapled wires up the wall.

The problem is that the old wires are 24 gauge. The wires that came with the new unit are 22 gauge. So would it be a bad thing to use these wires?

FMCoug 07-26-2008 08:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Clark Addison (Post 247280)
Any electricians on board? I am a self-taught handyman, and have never dabbled in anything electric for fear of killing myself.

I am putting in a new, replacement, garage door opener. There are currently wires that go from the control panel, into the wall, up, and come out of the ceiling above the motor unit. I would like to just re-use these wires, since I don't know how I would get wires through the wall, and it would look better than stapled wires up the wall.

The problem is that the old wires are 24 gauge. The wires that came with the new unit are 22 gauge. So would it be a bad thing to use these wires?

This is just for the momentary contact switch for opening and closing right? You'll be fine.

Clark Addison 07-26-2008 08:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by FMCoug (Post 247281)