cougarguard.com — unofficial BYU Cougars / LDS sports, football, basketball forum and message board  

Go Back   cougarguard.com — unofficial BYU Cougars / LDS sports, football, basketball forum and message board > non-Sports > Religion
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-02-2007, 04:21 AM   #1
Mrs. Funk

Mrs. Funk is on a distinguished road
Default Why are my parents

so completely retarded about major holidays? They are already offended that we can't make it home for Thanksgiving (I'm a first year law student... and will be getting ready for finals... but this is immaterial to them) and that the cheapest tickets back home we can find have us back in my hometown at 9 PM Christmas Day. My dad is throwing a hissyfit that we might miss Christmas Day, the first time I haven't been around to open presents with them.

We're broke newlyweds! What do they want? The earlier flight costs twice as much! We're not trying to break the family or say that we hate them. We're already taking a full week to spend with them. Funk is taking a week off of work so he can sleep in his in-law's basement while his wife gets criticized for being a slothful, worthless waste of skin daughter.

It's always been this way. I can never do anything right. I'm never considerate enough. I'm a big selfish oaf. I should just give up now.
Mrs. Funk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2007, 04:35 AM   #2
il Padrino Ute
Board Pinhead

il Padrino Ute is an unknown quantity at this point

My advice:

Call your parents and tell them that you are no longer their little girl, but a married woman going to law school who is trying to start her own life with her husband.

If that doesn't work, tell them that if they want you and mpfunk there, they'll have to pay for all the travel expenses.

If that doesn't work, have mpfunk let me know your address and I'll send you one of my Christmas letters to send to your parents and you can sign it and make it from you.