cougarguard.com — unofficial BYU Cougars / LDS sports, football, basketball forum and message board  

Go Back   cougarguard.com — unofficial BYU Cougars / LDS sports, football, basketball forum and message board > SPORTS! > Cycling
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-08-2008, 03:25 PM   #1
beelzebabette

beelzebabette is on a distinguished road
Default Pedal Question

I'm a biking novice (I've probably ridden less than 500 miles) so I'm hoping a few of you will share your opinion on what's the best pedal for a road bicycle--both for a novice and yourself, if the two are different.

The friend that got me started out cycling and his brother both swore by the eggbeater, and that's what I started out with. They switched me out to the eggbeater with the platform at the end of last year (so I could use the leverage of the platform to click in instead of trying to jump into the pedals if you want a comical image).

The question arises as I've spent more time working on hills. I've started clipping out when I slow to 4 mph so I don't tip if I lose momentum. I've been wondering if there's a better pedal for me to use or if it's simply a matter of not spending enough time on the bike--i.e., clipping out at the right time will become more intuitive.

Any and all suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
beelzebabette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2008, 03:46 PM   #2
mattbikeboy

mattbikeboy is on a distinguished road

I for one never liked Eggbeaters -- I bought a pair a couple of years ago to go on my bike for a trip to Europe so I could walk around without my road shoe cleats taking a beating. By that time I had been riding clipless pedals for more than 12 years -- and I fell more in the two months I had those on my bike than I did in the previous 11.5 years. Eggbeaters brass cleats wear quickly and the pedals themselves don't release or spin as smoothly as Shimano.