cougarguard.com — unofficial BYU Cougars / LDS sports, football, basketball forum and message board  

Go Back   cougarguard.com — unofficial BYU Cougars / LDS sports, football, basketball forum and message board > non-Sports > Religion
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-04-2013, 03:22 PM   #1
MikeWaters
Demiurge

MikeWaters is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Ordaining women to the priesthood

http://www.sltrib.com/sltrib/news/56...h-lds.html.csp

Quote:
In a survey of U.S. religion, authors Robert Putnam and David Campbell, in their 2010 book, American Grace: How Religion Divides and Unites Us, found that 90 percent of LDS women opposed female ordination in their church (ironically, only 52 percent of Mormon men were against it).
http://ordainwomen.org/

http://ordainwomen.org/project/hi-im-jonathan/

Oh boy.

Quote:
I’m a Mormon physician-scientist. I’m proud to say that I think Mormon women ought to hold the priesthood.
About me:
I’d have to say that being a Mormon is the single most important part of my identity–more than nationality, profession, or anything else for that matter. BYU was the only college I ever considered attending. I have fond memories of playing church ball while I was growing up in Utah County, and less fond memories of Scout campouts in the snow. Somehow I avoided rabbit hunting with the Scouts, but everyone was cool about it. I served a mission in Russia. It was great–cold, but great. Being a Mormon is very important to me although my job has interfered with my church activity at times. I am horribly imperfect, but I try to make the world a better place.
Why I think women should be ordained: