cougarguard.com — unofficial BYU Cougars / LDS sports, football, basketball forum and message board  

Go Back   cougarguard.com — unofficial BYU Cougars / LDS sports, football, basketball forum and message board > SPORTS! > Cycling
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 02-10-2006, 03:33 PM   #1
bluegoose

bluegoose is on a distinguished road
Default Question about foot numbness

This year I have been getting numbness in my right foot near the 2nd and 3rd toes (left to a lesser degree) during and after longer rides.

A little history - last July was the first time I noticed the problem. During and after the Death Ride was when I first experienced it. This was about a 10 hour ride, and the numbness lasted for about a month after the ride. It had eventually resolved, but has returned over the past 1-2 months since I started riding the trainer in the garage. Now the numbness starts up after about 45 minutes on the trainer or 1 hour on the road. Resolves after about 5-10 minutes off the bike.

No problems prior to last July, and no real problem from september through November of last year.

No real change in equipment. Specialized shoes, Shimano SPD pedals and cleats. Bike fit seems okay per plumb line and tape measure.

Any thoughts? Are SPD's more common to have this type of problem compared to other pedals? Could my shoes be breaking down?

Any input is appreciated.
bluegoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2006, 05:00 PM   #2
Archaea
Assistant to the Regional Manager

Archaea is an unknown quantity at this point

My wife is experiencing this problem and we haven't found a solution yet.

We ride speedplay pedals, but have tried to buy new shoes (looser), and may have to try a different pedal arrangement. She also noticed by riding a longer bike that it helped.

Try having the cleat adjusted, moving it a bit back.
Old 02-10-2006, 05:13 PM   #3
MikeWaters
Demiurge

MikeWaters is an unknown quantity at this point