cougarguard.com — unofficial BYU Cougars / LDS sports, football, basketball forum and message board  

Go Back   cougarguard.com — unofficial BYU Cougars / LDS sports, football, basketball forum and message board > non-Sports > Politics
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01-16-2008, 12:22 AM   #1
tooblue

tooblue is an unknown quantity at this point
Default So let me get this straight ...

A one day stay in a hospital in the States costs 6 - $700? Lou Dobbs reports that half or more of the bankruptcies in the states are caused due to a serious illness that prohibits a person from working, losing his/her job and then of course his/her insurance. Then that person CAN'T get insurance because of the existing condition?

Great system you've got there guys (red death in particular) -the same system that informed my wife and I we could take out a loan to pay for the birth of our fist child because as a self employed student I made too much money to qualify for Medicare or like programs.

Last edited by tooblue; 01-16-2008 at 12:27 AM.
tooblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2008, 12:39 AM   #2
Archaea
Assistant to the Regional Manager

Archaea is an unknown quantity at this point

Oversimplified, and I don't believe the answer that half of all bankruptcies are health care related. It's not believable.

The cost is also deceptive. In Nevada, if you're a cash patient, you are required to receive a discount equal to about forty percent off billed charges and most hospitals will negotiate any payment plan possible.

It's a scare tactic and the attacks lack adequate reliable support.

The reason for many bankruptcies, we spend more than we make, often on credit cards.
Old 01-16-2008, 12:45 AM   #3
UtahDan

UtahDan is on a distinguished road

Quote:
Originally Posted by tooblue View Post