cougarguard.com — unofficial BYU Cougars / LDS sports, football, basketball forum and message board  

Go Back   cougarguard.com — unofficial BYU Cougars / LDS sports, football, basketball forum and message board > SPORTS! > Other College Sports

Old 09-09-2006, 07:07 PM   #1
Colly Wolly

Colly Wolly is an unknown quantity at this point
Default How do I get good at golf?

I am just starting to learn the game. Man it is frustrating. Any tips on how to become a good player? People keep telling me to pay for lessons.
Colly Wolly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2006, 04:15 AM   #2
il Padrino Ute
Board Pinhead

il Padrino Ute is an unknown quantity at this point

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stick It In Him
I am just starting to learn the game. Man it is frustrating. Any tips on how to become a good player? People keep telling me to pay for lessons.
It wouldn't hurt to take a few lessons, especially if you're just starting to play golf. Most of the city and county courses here in the Salt Lake area (I'm assuming you live here) are good teachers.

If you really don't want to take a few lessons, the best way to get good at it is to play as much as you can. Golf is a sport in which you really need to play a lot to get good at it. If you have the time and want to get good at golf, play as often as you can. I'd even suggest that play the same course all the time (so you can learn the course and learn how to avoid the various hazards) and more importantly, join the UGA (Utah Golf Association). By joining the UGA, you input the score of each round you play in the computer at your home course (where you play the most) and it will update your handicap.

But most importantly, count each and every stroke. It's better to be honest about your score and shoot 120 than to take mulligans and shoot 90 because you can never improve if you don't know what you're really shooting. It also keeps the integrity of the sport and you'll really learn to love it.